Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Newly Elected and Returning SMPTE Board Members Begin the 2021-22 Term

WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. — Jan. 6, 2021 — SMPTE® today announced that the members newly elected and returning to the SMPTE Board of Governors have begun the 2021-22 term. The board includes experienced SMPTE leaders, some moving into new roles, as well as several new additions.

“Finding the Society’s gravity point in these challenging and quickly changing times will demand a team effort, and every individual on the SMPTE Board joins this collaboration with considerable strengths,” said Hans Hoffmann, newly elected SMPTE president. “Together we’ll chart a path toward further growth and continued value to our membership and the industry as a whole.”

The SMPTE Executive Committee for the 2021-22 term will include Hoffmann as SMPTE president, Patricia Keighley as executive vice president, and Patrick Griffis as SMPTE past president. All three previously served in other roles on the board. Bruce Devlin will continue on as standards vice president, and John Ferder will continue as secretary/treasurer. Newly added officers include Michael Zink as education vice president, Renard Jenkins as membership vice president, and Paul Stechly as finance vice president.

2021-22 SMPTE Regional Governors:

Tony Ngai of Society of Motion Imaging Ltd.
Asia-Pacific Region

Sylvain Marcotte of Grass Valley
Canada Region (second term)

William T. Hayes of Iowa PBS
USA – Central Region (second term)

Karl Joseph Kuhn of Telestream
USA – Eastern Region

Konstantin Glasman of the Artificial Intelligence Research Laboratory, St. Petersburg University of Film and Television
EMEA, Central and South America Region

Marty Meyer of Gravity Media/Gear House and Michael DeValue
USA – Hollywood Region (second term)

Rosemarie Lockwood of Belden
USA – New York Region (second term)

Lisa Hobbs of MediaKind
USA – Southern Region

Marina Kalkanis of M2A Media
United Kingdom Region (second term)

Jessica Wan of Pixar Animation Studios
USA – Western Region

SMPTE Regional Governors Continuing a Current Term:

Ward Hansford
Asia-Pacific Region

Paul Briscoe, Consultant
Canada Region

Yvonne Thomas, Digital TV Group (DTG)
EMEA, Central and South America Region

Eric Gsell, Dolby Laboratories
USA – Hollywood Region

Tom Mauro, Consultant
USA – New York Region

Merrick Ackermans, CBS
USA – Southern Region

Ben Waggoner, Amazon AWS
USA – Western Region

Mark Harrison, DPP
United Kingdom Region

More information about SMPTE, its standards work, and its educational offerings is online at

# # #

About SMPTE®
SMPTE is the global society of media professionals, technologists, and engineers working in the digital entertainment industry. The Society fosters a diverse and engaged membership from both the technology and creative communities, delivering vast educational offerings, technical conferences and exhibitions, the SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal, and access to a rich network of colleagues essential to their career success. As an internationally recognized standards organization, SMPTE also provides a vital technical framework of engineering standards and guidelines that allow the seamless creation, management, and delivery of media for art, entertainment, and education worldwide.

All trademarks appearing herein are the properties of their respective owners.

Link to Word Doc:

Link to Photo:
Photo Caption: Click here to download photos from the SMPTE website.




Featured Articles